Smoked Salmon and Asparagus Quiche

IMG_6717[1]

What the heck. How can it be November already?  I don’t even know where to begin to catch you up to where I’m at now but I attribute a lot of my absence to the fact that my son played summer baseball this year and all of a sudden, I didn’t have much of a summer break!  I work full time and between working and activities, I count on summers to cook laborious meals and spend hours in the kitchen.  But between baseball and increasing dance commitments for my little one, that time is cut short.  When fall came around, my son started middle school and got on the flag football team!  So it’s been go-go-go again.  To be honest, all summer and fall, I feel like I’ve been throwing food on the table instead of preparing and enjoying it.  Meals have become somewhat of a challenge on some days.  So yes, I am like millions of moms out there trying to get a decent meal on the table with very limited time and lots of hungry family members!  I’ve had to go back to my semi-homemade roots, getting lots of rotisserie chickens for easy, pre-cooked meat and super simple dinners.  But you know what?  Being on the sidelines, cheering for the kids… that’s what they will remember.  They will remember eating together, even if it’s pizza or stale nachos or my go-to meal of curry and rice.  And that’s the whole point of this right? To encourage you, wherever you are on your cooking/eating journey to keep at it!  Not to show perfection or “this is how you do it”. I’m right in the trenches with you! This quiche was made when we were home early one night so I had some time but it didn’t require fuss – I could help kids with homework and projects.  But we were home so I could let it bake.  Putting it together was simple- just took a little bit of time in the oven.  Turned out to be so beautiful that I would definitely make this to take to a potluck or a friend’s house!  Hope to update you some more about life’s happenings but until then, enjoy this quiche!

 

Smoked Salmon and Asparagus Quiche

recipe from Betty Crocker

  • Prep 20 min
  • Total 1 hr 30 min
  • Servings 6

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon onion salt
1/2  cup vegetable oil
2 tablespoons milk
1 package (3 1/2 to 4 1/2 ounces) smoked salmon, flaked
1 package (10 ounces) frozen asparagus cuts, thawed and drained
Note: I used fresh asparagus – see note on bottom for blanching info.
1 cup shredded Havarti cheese or Monterey Jack cheese (4 ounces)
3 eggs
1 cup whipping (heavy) cream
2 teaspoons chopped fresh dill weed or 1 teaspoon dried dill weed
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper

Steps

  • Heat oven to 425°F. Mix flour, sugar and onion salt in medium bowl. Beat oil and milk in measuring cup with fork until creamy. Pour oil mixture over flour mixture; stir until dough forms.
  • Pat dough on bottom and side of ungreased pie plate, 9×1 1/4 inches, or quiche dish, 9×1 1/2 inches. Sprinkle salmon over crust. Cut off bottom one-third of each asparagus spear; reserve top spear portions. Chop asparagus ends; sprinkle over salmon. Sprinkle cheese evenly over asparagus.
  • Beat eggs, whipping cream, dill weed, salt and pepper in medium bowl with wire whisk. Slowly pour egg mixture over quiche ingredients. Arrange reserved asparagus in spoke fashion on top of quiche.
  • Bake 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 325°F. Bake 40 to 45 minutes longer or until knife inserted in center comes out clean. If necessary, cover edge of crust with strips of aluminum foil after 10 to 15 minutes of baking to prevent excessive browning. Let stand 10 minutes before cutting.

Expert Tips

  • Use 8 ounces of fresh asparagus spears (about 25) for the frozen, blanching spears first. To blanch, place spears in boiling water for 2 to 3 minutes or until bright green; immediately rinse with cold water.
  • Garnish servings of quiche with additional fresh dill weed.

 

Leave a Reply

