baked bbq chicken sandwiches

IMG_3946[1].JPG

So…times are changing and times are tough for so many.  It’s disappointing to see such a divided nation. As a parent I can only commit to raising socially conscious and aware children and I do my part by arming them with information, empowering them to stand up for what they believe in and not cave to what they don’t agree with.  My kids have had lots of questions about the election.  My son had questions about process and the act of voting. My daughter had questions about the candidates.  I waited until after work to vote so that I could take them and they could see the act of going to a polling place and voting.  But let’s be honest – they loved getting the stickers!  But afterwards I felt it was just as important for them to see my reaction to the election results, as it was to see the buildup towards it .  I told them how disappointed and upset I was but that clearly, not everyone felt the same way I did.  They were confused. I feel that perhaps they’ve been sheltered in this California bubble of progressive liberalism. When I shared with them stories of growing up in the Midwest and being teased for nothing other than being who I was, they looked at me like I was telling them a fairy tale or something.  Oh, my sweet, innocent children.  Perhaps they will be sheltered from any of that pain or ridicule in their lifetime but I think more than that, it’s a responsibility for them to know that not everyone else has it as easy as them or sees the world as they do.

So when times are tough, I like to have these kinds of talks over a great meal where at least my meals can be comforting and simple.  The day after the election, I went to work and by mid-day, I realized how utterly exhausted and sleepy I was.  For me, that’s a tiny step towards depression.  I decided to take it easy and make a super easy meal to serve up that night.  The rotisserie chicken in this recipe saves time and effort.  As my friend would say, this dish is more assembling than cooking.  And that’s just fine.  Not everyone enjoys or wants to cook a meal every night but maybe they can handle assembling a meal!  That’s going to be my new encouragement for my non-cooking friends. Find things you can assemble!  Maybe by naming it something different, it won’t feel as intimidating.  Whether you cook or assemble, try this tasty dish out – it was loved by everyone in my family!

Baked BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

recipe from $5 dinners

Yield – 4 servings

Preparation Time – 5 minutes

Cooking Time – 8 minutes

Ingredients

  • 8 small Hawaiian Rolls
  • 1 cup shredded rotisserie chicken, cooked
  • 1/2 cup BBQ sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded white cheddar
  • 1/2 small red onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • Chips, as side dish
  • Fresh veggies, as side dish

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a baking liner.
  • Split the Hawaiian rolls in half with a knife and set aside.
  • In a small bowl, combine cooked chicken and BBQ sauce. Stir to combine.
  • Spoon the chicken mixture into the rolls. Top with shredded cheese and onion and the other half of the roll. Place all the sandwiches on the lined pan.
  • In a small dish, combine the butter and garlic. Brush over the top of the sandwiches.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 8 minutes until cheese is melted.
  • Serve Baked BBQ Chicken Sandwiches warm with chips and fresh veggies.
Leave a Reply

