Spicy Chicken Tacos With Corn, Feta, and Avocado

IMG_2691[1].JPG

This spring is KILLING me! I’ve got kids in baseball, softball and dance; and in between practices and games, it’s just nonstop GO GO GO.  I feel like a crazy woman, checking my calendar constantly!  I’m on autopilot so much that I feel like I even need to look at the calendar to see what time I need to go to bed!  I sometimes wonder how things got so crazy and then my friend reminded me that it slowly amped up to this, it didn’t happen all at once. In the fall, I remembered feeling anxiety about the new sports schedules but now, that seems like a piece of cake compared to what I’m currently juggling. But I’ve been eased into it since last August so come summer, I’m going to have so much free time I won’t even know what to do with myself!  Actually, I hope to be cooking at a much more leisurely pace, with iced, fruity drinks!

Anyway, back to the subject at hand.  Man, do I love corn.  Some people (especially moms), when left alone for a night, may reach for a bowl of cereal and call it a night…or maybe even a bowl of ice cream!  But me? My go-to “I don’t want to cook” meal is canned corn.  I open up the top, drain it with the lid and grab a spoon. I don’t heat it, I don’t add butter, I don’t pour it in a bowl. I just sit there with my can of corn and call it a night.  No dishes, no fuss and total satisfaction.  I’ve been told this habit is gross or lazy or weird but to me, corn has everything going for it. It’s sweet, filling and crunchy! Now, do I prefer canned corn to real corn?! Heck, no!  I love corn on the cob. In the summer, I get so excited that I end up buying some every week! Towards the end of the summer my family is crying for mercy, asking for the corn to stop.  And then, it’s a long, cold winter without any fresh corn. I wait patiently until the next season comes upon us. So 2 weeks ago or so, I went to the grocery store and lo and behold, the first of this season’s corn was there!  I cautiously got 2 ears and brought it home, wondering what I would do with it.  I didn’t go crazy and buy 4-6 ears; just 2.  We’re gonna ease ourselves nice and easy into this year’s corn season.  I saw this taco recipe and decided I would use my recently purchased corn for it…and it was perfect. It was awesome for dinner and then a few days later, it reappeared as part of my breakfast burrito filling, along with eggs where it was enjoyed again by the family!  It’s quite simple and delicious!

Spicy Chicken Tacos With Corn, Feta, and Avocado

recipe from Serious Eats

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 jalapeño, stemmed, seeded, and roughly chopped
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 2 chipotles in adobo, plus 1 tablespoon of sauce
  • 1 cup chicken stock or low-sodium broth
  • 2 ears of corn, kernels sliced off
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta, preferably Bulgarian
  • 2 tablespoons fresh juice from 2 limes
  • 8 corn tortillas, warmed
  • 1/2 cup picked cilantro leaves
  • 2 ripe avocados, pitted and sliced
  • Lime wedges and thinly sliced scallions, for serving

Directions

  1. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Heat oil in a Dutch oven or 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat until lightly smoking. Add chicken and cook until browned on both sides, about 6 minutes total. Transfer chicken to a plate.

  2. In the same pot over medium heat, add onion and jalapeño and cook, stirring frequently, until softened, about 2 minutes. Stir in cumin and oregano until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add chipotles and their sauce, stirring to combine, and cook for 1 minute. Add broth and nestle the chicken back in the pot. Adjust heat to maintain a gentle simmer and cook until the chicken is cooked through, about 5 minutes; season with salt and pepper. Using a slotted spoon, transfer chicken to a clean plate. Allow cooking liquid to reduce slightly.

  3. Meanwhile, shred chicken with 2 forks. Return chicken and any accumulated juices to the pot and cook until warmed through, about 3 minutes.

  4. In a small bowl, combine corn with feta, seasoning with 1 tablespoon of lime juice and pepper.

  5. Stir remaining 1 tablespoon lime juice into chicken, then spoon onto the tortillas. Serve with the corn salsa, cilantro, avocado, lime wedges, and scallions.

Leave a Reply

