zucchini and beef sloppy joes

IMG_1945[1]

I remember having sloppy joes as a kid – like many American foods, I tried it first in a lunchroom and not in my mom/grandma’s Korean kitchen.  My mom cooked almost exclusively Korean food but once in a while she’d surprise me by cooking something like lasagna and to this day, I have no idea when or how she learned to make it but she figured it out and it was pretty good!  My mom’s attempt at sloppy joes involved a Manwich can.  I honestly don’t even know where she learned about Manwich but one day I was telling her I liked sloppy joes and soon after that, I found it on the table.  I think she made it like twice in my whole life but I remembered it!  Now that my kids eat lunch at school, we go through the school menu every month and each kid tells me which days they want to buy lunch at school and which days they want me to pack.  Recently, they both got really excited when I told them sloppy joes were on the March menu.  They seemed so excited that I wanted to make them a version at home!  I saw a recipe that had zucchini in it and then I kinda added bits and pieces from other recipes I’ve liked and tried a new version of it tonight. It went over REALLY well!  Husband wanted it on the record that he didn’t like the clove flavor at ALL but the kids loved my version and said it was way better than the school one (whew!)

 

zucchini and beef sloppy joes

Ingredients:

3 garlic cloves, minced
1 anaheim chile, diced (I would use jalapeno but its too spicy for daughter)
1 medium onion, diced
1 medium zucchini, shredded
1 lb. ground beef
6 oz can tomato paste
3/4 cup water
1 tbsp worcestershire sauce
2 1/2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp ground ginger
salt and pepper
Directions:
In a large saucepan, saute the garlic, pepper, onion and zucchini in oil until fragrant, about 5 minutes. Add beef and saute until browned.  Add all the remaining ingredients and simmer, stirring occasionally for about 20 minutes, until thickened.

 

Leave a Reply

